you're reading...
Non-Fiction

The Last Lecture

Cover of "The Last Lecture"

Cover of The Last Lecture

I have been introduced to many great books after I joined Goodreads. This is one such book. ‘The Last Lecture‘ by Randy Pausch is one book you would never want to miss.

Of course, there are many books that lectures you how you should live, how to achieve your dreams, etc. But this is special. In this book, Randy, did not say ‘How you should live?’, instead he talked about how he lived and from which we can get enough lessons for our lives.

This is a great book because it is not speaking about principles of living, Randy trying to tell how to live a happy life and the lessons he learned throughout his life. For a man who already known about his death date, he himself a great role model. I never imagined a man whose death date was known can speak about better living and how to cherish your life instead of dwelling about his misfortune.

In this book, he talked about ‘Achieving your Childhood Dreams’, ‘Lessons learned from his adventures’, ‘Happiness of Enabling others’ dreams’ and ‘How to live our lives’.  In all these He quoted completely from his own life and that amazes me. Though he is unfortunate to leave the world early, he lived a wonderful life. And he wants everyone to take some positives from his life.

I had just completed the book, so not sure how much this will impact my life. But I am sure this will impact a lot in the way I am looking into the life in the coming days. Some of my favorite quotes from the book.

When you are screwing up and nobody says anything to you anymore, that means they’ve given up on you.

You can always change the plan, but only if you have one.

Anytime we spend whining is unlikely to help us achieve our goals. And it won’t make us happier.

Don’t obsess over what people think.

Experience is what you get when you didn’t get what you wanted.

Brick walls are there for a reason and once you get over them it can be helpful to others to tell them how you did it.

Towards the end one of the main things he mentioned was, ‘sometimes we just need to ask’. I remember many times I didn’t get what I wanted just because I didn’t have the courage to ask what I wanted. I am sure this is with many. Like this, there are lot of things in this book that perfectly suits many of us.

My rating for this wonderful book is ★★★★★

This is one such book you would never want to miss. I have embedded the video of ‘The Last Lecture’ below. You can see it first then you can buy the book. I am sure, once you watch the video you would definitely want to buy the book. The book has lot more things that are not mentioned in the lecture, Lot that would affect our way of looking into life.

About Anbu

பக்கத்தில் இருப்பவன் கூட கண்டுகொள்ளாதது தெரிந்தும், உலகமே தன்னை கவனிப்பதாக நினைத்துக்கொண்டு ஒவ்வொரு காரியத்தையும் பார்த்து பார்த்து செய்யும் உங்களில் ஒருவன்..

Discussion

6 thoughts on “The Last Lecture

  1. I have that video Anbu… seems like an inspirational book… needed by me badly 🙂 🙂 will get it from you 😉

    Also I have heard ‘How to influence people and win friends’ is a real good book.. try to read it sometime..

    And in Tamil, u can read ‘Athanikkum aasaipadu’.. wonderful one…

    Posted by kanagu | April 24, 2011, 9:31 pm
    • Thanks Kanagu for th suggestions of the books.. Will try to read.. 🙂

      BTW, if you want the book, you have to trave to bangalore.. Instead you can buy one.. It is around 200 only.. 🙂

      Posted by Anbu | April 25, 2011, 2:08 pm
  2. Looks like an interesting book. Some of books in this genre are too good – I have read them some years back. But now, not much interested in motivational/ life-skills topics. Maybe someday I will get the interest back, then I will read this first.

    Destination Infinity

    Posted by Destination Infinity | May 4, 2011, 2:36 pm
    • This is the only book by Randy Pausch.. It was an accidental one as he never expected his lecture will become so successful so that he will write a detailed book on it.

      Posted by Anbu | May 4, 2011, 10:40 pm
  3. Nice looking theme, BTW. If possible, try to increase the main font slightly.

    Destination Infinity

    Posted by Destination Infinity | May 4, 2011, 2:37 pm

Leave a Reply

