you're reading...
Classics, Crime

A Study in Scarlet

Cover of the first edition of the book "A...

Image via Wikipedia

I read this novel as part of Sherlock Holmes complete Novels and Short stories. My initial thought was to write a review for that book as a whole. But as I read through this huge collection it will be too difficult to tell about it in a single post. Moreover there are lots of free online copies available for each books, I decided to write reviews for each books as it were released.

Though I had read few of Sherlock Holmes stories way back, I did not remember anything other than he was an extraordinary detective who solves many cases with his simple reasoning when there were no modern equipments. The introduction in the book gives you the details of how much respect this character got during the time it published.

With all those in the mind, I read the first novel ‘A Study in Scarlett’. I should say I felt a bit disappointed to see the much hyped Sherlock Holmes introduced in such a novel where he reminded me of lot of policemen and detectives in various films where they pursue the hero.

Yes, in this novel, though Conan Doyle successfully introduced Holmes and his reasoning skills, when I read it fully, I felt he was the same old detective who tries to catch a good guy declaring ‘a crime is a crime.’

But as a story, this short novel (ran up to 120 pages in my hard copy) passes as a good one. Though there is nothing for you predict anything, this gives you a wonderful story.

But the problem is with these many years passed and the stories are very famous, you can expect many storytellers and film makers borrowed the idea. This is why the novel was full of clichés which we have seen in numerous films and stories.

We cannot blame Doyle for that. We need to blame the modern writers and directors who had stolen his imaginations. I would have given 4 stars had those clichés are not there.

My Rating for this intoroductory novel of Sherlock Holmes is ★★★☆☆


About Anbu

பக்கத்தில் இருப்பவன் கூட கண்டுகொள்ளாதது தெரிந்தும், உலகமே தன்னை கவனிப்பதாக நினைத்துக்கொண்டு ஒவ்வொரு காரியத்தையும் பார்த்து பார்த்து செய்யும் உங்களில் ஒருவன்..

Discussion

3 thoughts on “A Study in Scarlet

  1. I didn’t know that A Study in Scarlet was the first novel where Sherlock Holmes was introduced! I have read a couple of short stories of this series, and was amazed by the details in to which the detective goes!

    Destination Infinity

    Posted by Destination Infinity | April 13, 2011, 8:06 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Sign of Four « Mighty Pens - June 9, 2011

Leave a Reply

