you're reading...
Classics

Lolita

Cover of "Lolita (Penguin Modern Classics...

Cover of Lolita (Penguin Modern Classics)

This is the story of Humbert Humbert, the pervert and the little girl Lolita. This is the first story, I read, that is told by the antagonist. The story goes like Humbert, the convict, trying to give his account of events to prove his innocence. So, as per the story, the reader will not know whether all the things told by Humbert is true or not. This is something I liked a lot. You being put in the place of the jury and trying to find out whether Humbert is punishable or not.

When comes to the writing, the novel won the literary Nobel Prize by no luck. Nabokov is superb in his style of narration with the light-hearted narrations with subtle humor throughout the story is something pleasant to read. I wonder how I hate the character, Humbert, but still liked his narration. Here is where Nabokov succeeds.

The poetical way of storytelling is something you would hear a lot from those who read it. And it’s true. The novel is poetical in most of the places with lot of new words to add to your vocabulary. And in between there are actual poems also. Humbert was telling a poem to the opponent in the middle of a fight is the imagination to the core.

This Nobel Prize winning, controversial to the core, story is something that got me into mixed feelings. Whether you will like it or not? Not sure is the answer. I liked the novel though the plot is something not acceptable to many.

When you write some grumbling story of a pervert who likes a preadolescent girl and his incestuous relation with her and publish it as pure work of fiction, many would criticize you as the one with the pervert’s mind. Nabokov should have a lot of guts to publish it and in my opinion it worth it.

Though I could give more, the novel lost two ratings for the plot that may not be suitable for all. And I would say you read this novel, if you do not worry about the disturbing plot and you care much about the beautiful writing.

My rating for this book is ★★★☆☆

About Anbu

பக்கத்தில் இருப்பவன் கூட கண்டுகொள்ளாதது தெரிந்தும், உலகமே தன்னை கவனிப்பதாக நினைத்துக்கொண்டு ஒவ்வொரு காரியத்தையும் பார்த்து பார்த்து செய்யும் உங்களில் ஒருவன்..

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Lolita

  1. I really didn’t like this book, not because I was shocked by the content- I knew the story- but I found the writing really stilted and obnoxious. I didn’t empathise with Humbert at all, and I think given the subject matter you need to feel conflicted about him. I didn’t. I felt pure dislike all the way through which meant I had little interest in any of the characters. I hate to say it, but I think this book is still a “must read” because of the shock factor.

    Posted by Siobhan | February 15, 2011, 2:59 am
    • Thanks for your views Siobhan.

      The narration is in the view of Humbert who tries to prove he is innocent. So there he portrays all the things about him is not so wrong where as he narrates the story in a way that all the other characters have something wrong in them. I guess this is why you did not like any characters in the story. I would suggest the book for its poetical writing than anything else.

      Posted by Anbu | February 15, 2011, 10:03 am
  2. Guess he could have used the poetical writing skills with some other topic. The concept doesn’t interest me 😉

    Destination Infinity

    Posted by Destination Infinity | February 21, 2011, 12:15 pm
    • Of course, many would not like the plot..

      I myself wouldn’t have taken up if it was not selected for the Group Read.. But once I start reading it, I couldn’t help but admire his writing..

      Posted by Anbu | February 23, 2011, 1:52 pm
  3. I’m thirteen and I adore this masterpiece! I love how persuasive the narration is! Oh, there is just so many things to love about this novel! The subject, however, does not disturb me at all, and I am THIRTEEN. Yes, I know I shouldn’t be reading it, blah, blah, blah, but I just cannot resist reading that addictive little book!
    Sorry for the really late comment, but I have only just stumbled upon this review today.
    – KatyLoLana

    Posted by katylolana | December 4, 2013, 9:18 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: What is a Pedophile? Hebephile, Ephebophile, Teleiophile, Infantophile | Human Stupidity: Irrationality, Self Deception - March 27, 2011

Leave a Reply

